Awards and Reviews
⇓ Jump to Awards ⇓

Reviews

  • Ingrid Hall - author of the "Granny Irene's Guide to the Afterlife" series

    Cleverly written, Green Kitty is a series of stories within a story which revolves around the touching relationship between a young girl and her grandmother. Grandma has been placed in a residential home due to her dementia and the author deals with the issue so sensitively that at times it is heart breaking and yet uplifting at the same time. I was hooked from the opening paragraph which I found compelling and powerful as I can imagine that having a beloved grandparent placed into residential care would raise all sorts of questions for a young child and is a situation that families the world over are having to deal with on a daily basis. Each chapter involves a different visit to grandma and as such is neatly broken down and sign posted so that young readers know what to expect. The use of repetition is also great for consolidating the information learned.

    Grandmas dementia is extremely well presented, the author clearly has a lot of experience in subject. I love the way Grandma’s mind is stretched and worked with the story telling and the fact that routine is important for those suffering with dementia is also highlighted. Grandma’s stories are funny and amusing, indeed I found myself chuckling at the story of the male cat that hadn’t been neutered because I have refused point blank to have our dog castrated in spite of everyone repeatedly telling me that I should…A multitude of educational aspects are adeptly woven into the story, for example we learn how to identify whether or not a snake is poisonous and this is done in such a way that youngsters wouldn’t even realise that they were learning. We also learn about fables and what they are and this is showcased through Aesops (Ancient Greek) which I am familiar with from my own childhood and also the fables of the Cherokee, an American tribe which up until this point I have never studied and the author highlights the similarities between the two whilst also pointing out the differences.

    I have tried (as I always do) to find some fault with this book. On this occasion however I cannot find a single bone to pick with it and would recommend it without hesitation to parents everywhere.

  • Brooke Bumgardner>

    In Green Kitty, the story is told by the author as a young girl. We get to hear about the special relationship she has with her grandmother, who is in an assisted living home, suffering from Alzheimer's. This felt like much more than just a 'story' to me. It contains important life lessons about helping others, keeping family close, and spending time with loved ones. This is a book that I would consider an essential read when someone you know is diagnosed with Alzheimer's. It isn't a 'scary' story. It simply shows how love is more important than anything. This is a book that I will be reading to my children, as we have had family members with Alzheimer's. Four Stars.

  • Amazon review by Gary Joseph LeBlanc | Saturday, March 10, 2012

    Explaining to any child that their grandparent is suffering from Alzheimer's is such a difficult task, but very necessary. I'm extremely glad this book was written. Hiding the truth from them on why their loved Grandpa or Grandma is behaving differently will not address the child's worries. Sit them down and talk with them, read this book to them. Children are smarter and more durable than most people give them credit for. I'm sure they realize that a problem already exist.

  • Sandy Spencer on "Free Alzheimer's Support" | Wednesday, December 14, 2011

    Alexandra Faer Bryan has a new children’s book, “Green Kitty.” It’s a must-read and has placed as a finalist for “Best Books 2011.”

    About a grandmother recently placed in assisted living and her visiting grandchild. This story weaves information and caregiving suggestions about dementia and Alzheimer’s disease subtly into the storyline of this educational and entertaining work.

    Green Kitty will capture the imagination of any child as it retells the laugh-out-loud true antics of the author’s family pets and farm animals. These are amusing, earthy stories which will appeal to both parents and children.

    It was developed for the unique age group of 8-12 year olds. The work is one of six finalists for “Best Books 2011" in children’s fiction by USA Book News. The book was written to be educational but it is being recognized as entertaining fiction.


    Additionally, she stated on her Facebook page that Green Kitty is "A wonderful book for a child who spends time with a family member who has Alzheimer's. Entertaining and educational. A must-read! Author Alexandra Faer Bryan hit a home-run with this book!"

  • Not just for kids | Wednesday, July 31, 2013

    Amazon review by Colleen Lanier

    Dementia affects the whole family, but it seems that many times people choose to "shield" children from the truth about what is happening. While the intentions may be good, it leaves the kids without answers or understanding of why their loved ones have changed. In Green Kitty, Alexandra tackles the task of explaining dementia in a way children can easily understand. The illustrations are beautiful, and by weaving the stories about animals into gentle hints about dementia she has created a book that can start conversations in a casual and positive way. It is so very important to help children understand this unfair and often scary disease, and I would recommend using this book as a platform for doing just that. Adults will enjoy it as well. Who doesn't like stories about cows, pigs, and green kitties? Five Stars.

  • "Green Kitty" helps explain Alzheimer’s to pre-teens: emphasizes elders’ contributions | Friday, July 22, 2011

    By Carol Bradley Bursack

    “The age group “Green Kitty” was developed for is eight to twelve-year-olds, which is one reason I decided to read the book. On ouralzheimers.com, we’ve reviewed several picture books to help young children cope with a grandparent’s dementia. This is the first book I’ve been exposed to for a somewhat older age group.

    What I liked best about the “Green Kitty” is that it shows how, despite the illness of Alzheimer’s disease, a strong bond can continue within the family. The book fosters respect and dignity for an elder, highlighting elder value irrespective of AD (Alzheimer’s disease/Dementia) related losses. That, in itself, makes the book a good buy.”

  • Riverdale native’s book looks at Alzheimer’s disease | Wednesday, July 20, 2011

    From the Clayton News Daily newspaper, written by Jeylin White

    “It was an encounter with an elderly woman and her granddaughter that inspired Alexandra F. Bryan, a native of Riverdale, to write a children’s book, called “Green Kitty.”

    The book offers suggestions and information to children, who are dealing with grandparents suffering from dementia, or Alzheimer’s disease.”

    Photo by Jeylin White of Alexandra Faer Bryan, R.N. author, (left) and Megan L. Pitts, one of the illustrators. (right)

  • Reviews by the First Children to Read Green Kitty | Sunday, May 15, 2011

    "It is so cool! It has snakes and dogs and everything!" 10 year old- Zack H.

    "I laughed from cover to cover!" - 12 year old Melissa B.

    Photo of Alexandra Faer Bryan, the author and her mother who is in the dedication of the book.

    “Mom -Every day with you is a blessing”

  • Radio Show Host's Review | Tuesday, July 20, 2010

    By Craig Fahle

    "One important thing about this book is it is telling people there is indeed some value still to be gleaned from these relationships despite the illness."

    -Craig Fahle WDET, Detroit Public Radio

  • First iBookstore Review

    If you have kids and elderly family members, this books is an absolute must read. The delightful animal stories are woven together with a nicely written story that teaches the critical lesson of how to handle memory impaired family members. I haven't encountered any other book that teaches children how to handle the day that Grandma forgets their name. Having gone through this with my own grandmother, I wish that I could've read this a few years ago.

    This is one of those children's books that even an adult can enjoy and benefit from. The animal stories are wonderful and quite funny, bringing back memories of my own childhood. The lessons on dealing with elderly family members that are suffering from Alzheimer's disease are of benefit to people of all ages, whether they have children or not.

    If you enjoy animal stories, give this book a read, you won't be disappointed.

    -Review posted on iBookstore.

  • A compelling work to help 9-12 year olds understand dementia | Saturday, July 27, 2013

    Amazon review by TopSella

    A fun, engaging collection of animal stories that revolve around a series of visits to a feisty grandmother who lives in Assisted Living. Grandma has early stage dementia and the narrator uses the book to educate about Alzheimer's disease and to give helpful information. These bits of wisdom do not interrupt the flow of the work. Recommended for all animal lovers, even if you or your family have not been affected by memory issues and easy to read out loud to children younger than eight. Five Stars

  • Books for Boys

    Well here is my review for Green Kitty - James

    Well the book has a lot of cute and funny stories that readers will love. I loved the book. There are twelve chapters in the book. My favorite chapter is Green Kitty. The book altogether is really great and kids will love the book. I think the chapter kids will love the most will probably be Escapes. Well the rest of the book really funny and is super cute. The main characters are a little boy and his grandma. There are lots of different and unique and funny characters that I think readers will love. The stories are very sweet and cute and funny. The book over all was just well if I had to describe it in one word it would be AWSOME! I just have to say one more time. I LOVED the book altogether. Well until next time.

    Here is my Review: - Bobby

    The book had a lot of chapters but read like other books. It was interesting to read what was going on and I really liked reading about what happened. I agree with James, I liked Escapes. The snake drawing was pretty wicked. I also like that they visit Grandma as my family used to do that before she passed away. The bat is cute too, we had bats here when we moved in. The stories shared were fun and the grandma was sweet.

  • A must read for anyone trying to explain dementia to a child | April 23, 2013

    Amazon review by Judith Sly

    When I bought the book Green Kitty I thought it would be a book to add to my collection so if anyone asked me for material for children I would have an example. Little did I know that I would find a book that will be one that I recommend to anyone no matter how old they are, who wants guidance on working through the ups and downs of caregiving for someone who has a diagnosis of dementia.

    Alexandra Bryan the author has talked about her book before but she definitely downplays how wonderful this book is. On the back cover she states that "it subtly weaves caregiving suggestions for loved ones with dementia into the story-line." That is exactly what I love about this book. I feel that any adult reading it to a child will learn some wonderful caregiving ideas in a non-threatening loving way. Throughout the book there are so many wonderful examples of loving compassionate caregiving that leave the reader with ways to create a meaningful purposeful love filled life for their loved one.

    My favorite example is how the aunt tells the little girl that when grandma repeats a story it is just like when we reread our favorite book or watch a rerun on tv... I for one know that I have many favorites that are reruns that I enjoy it as if it is the first time I am seeing it.

    So if you need to explain how to provide loving compassionate care in a non threatening way to anyone no matter how old they are... this is that book.

Awards

  • Finalist in the 2012 International Book Awards | Thursday, May 24, 2012

    JPX MEDIA GROUP ANNOUNCES
    WINNERS AND FINALISTS OF
    THE 2012 INTERNATIONAL BOOK AWARDS

    Mainstream & Independent Titles Score Top Honors in the 3rd Annual International Book Awards

    LOS ANGELES – JPX Media Group announced the winners and finalists of THE 2012 INTERNATIONAL BOOK AWARDS (IBA) on May 23, 2012. Over 300 winners and finalists were announced in over 100 categories covering print, e-books and audio books. Awards were presented for titles published in 2010, 2011 and 2012.

    Children's Fiction

    Winner
    Marigold: Book One of the Elven Chronicles by Marya Ashworth
    CreateSpace
    978-1453671696

    Finalist
    Green Kitty by Alexandra Faer Bryan, illustrated by Megan L. Pitts & Katrina A. Judd
    Authorhouse
    978-1-4520-1736-5

    Finalist
    Hermis and Howard: A Bully Finds His Heart by Diane Hipp, illustrated by Steve Harpster
    Stoneydale Press Publishing Company
    1-931291-93-4

    Finalist
    Phantom of Keys by Prince Pravin
    AuthorHouse
    978-1467062848

    Finalist
    The Adventures of Little Boy Brown by Lexie Lucas, illustrated by Eris Gentle
    Authorhouse
    978-1456740351

  • Finalist in the 2011 USA Book News Best Book Awards | Tuesday, November 1, 2011

    USA BOOK NEWS ANNOUNCES
    WINNERS AND FINALISTS OF
    THE 2011 USA BEST BOOK AWARDS

    Mainstream & Independent Titles Score Top Honors in the
    8th Annual USA Best Book Awards
    Simon & Schuster, St. Martin’s Press, Random House, Penguin, Harper Collins, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, McGraw-Hill, John Wiley & Sons and hundreds of Independent Houses contribute to this year’s Outstanding Competition!

    Children's Fiction

    Winner
    The Adventures of Lumi Nary Light: A Fairy Tale of a Teeny Tiny Angel written and illustrated by Sonya Haramis, M.Ed.
    Peace of the Dreamer
    978-0-97622-472-3

    Finalist
    Dot to Dot by Kit Bakke
    Createspace
    978-1456368043

    Finalist
    Green Kitty by Alexandra Faer Bryan, illustrated by Megan L. Pitts & Katrina Judd
    AuthorHouse
    978-1-4520-1736-5

    Finalist
    I Don't Want To Go To The Toilet by B. Annye Rothenberg, Ph.D., illustrated by Nina Ollikainen, M.D.
    Perfecting Parenting Press
    978-0-979-0420-3-4

    Finalist
    Lost in Lexicon: An Adventure in Words and Numbers by Pendred Noyce, illustrations by Joan Charles Scarletta Press
    978-0-9830219-2-6

    Finalist
    Marigold: Book One of the Elven Chronicles by Marya Ashworth
    CreateSpace
    978-1-453671696

    Finalist
    Once Upon a Time Tales by Alma Winters
    Strategic Book Group
    978-1-60976-454-8